It supports bad and negative content and encourages idiots.. What are the weirdest contests in the world? What are the prizes given to the winners?

But there is another kind of award that not many people know about, and it is different in nature, value and purpose. As some of them have political or recreational ties and may not be in kind or tangible but rather only a title.

But what is really interesting and most characteristic of these types of awards is that some of them do not necessarily represent a valuable work or a great achievement. On the contrary, some of these awards are given with the aim of exposing a specific thing or the. worst and strangest things.

1. Award for the most institutions and countries that violate the privacy of citizens

This award is named after the character “Big Brother” in George Orwell’s famous novel, “1984”.

Big Brother awards are given to individuals, authorities or organizations that commit activities that violate people’s privacy.

Several countries, including the United States, the United Kingdom, Japan, France, Spain and Germany, have their own versions of the awards, which are presented by various human rights groups.

These awards are organized to draw attention and raise awareness of the increasing violations of privacy by the authorities and take action against them.

The Big Brother Awards of German origin are organized and presented by Digital Courage, but many different countries hold annual celebrations for them.

2. The dumbest celebrity comment award

If you are a famous person or have a high position, beware, there are those who watch you and follow your words and maybe use one of your phrases to enter a competition for the stupidest and most bizarre comments.

The award, called ‘Foot in Mouth’, is given out annually by the British Campaign for the English Language for the most ‘puzzling comment by a public figure’.

This title is given to a famous person who said something stupid, laughable or strange in an unexpected way.

Interestingly, one of the previous winners of this award is former US President George W. Bush who was awarded an Open Life Award for many of his remarks, most famously: “I know what I believe in. I will continue to speak out to print what I believe. and what I believe is that I believe that what I believe is true.”

The famous and handsome American actor Richard Gere also won this award for his phrase: “I know who I am. Nobody knows who I am. If I am a giraffe and someone says I am a snake, I will answer: No, in fact I’m a giraffe.”

3. A satirical Nobel Prize for the stupidest scientific achievements

The Ig Nobel Prizes are a parody of the Nobel Prizes, which are awarded every year in early October for ten achievements that “first make people laugh, then make them think”.

This award, organized by the Annals of Improbable Research, was presented by a group of real Nobel laureates at a ceremony at Harvard University’s Sanders Theater and includes 10 categories.

One of the famous recipients of the prize is Sir Andre Jim, who is so far the only person to have received both the Nobel Prize and the Ig Nobel Prize, both in Physics.

Another winner is Brian Whitcomb for his research on “Sword swallowing and its side effects”, results including “sore throat”, imagine!

As for Juan Manuel Toro, Josep Topalon and Nuria Sebastian, they won by discovering that mice sometimes cannot distinguish between a person speaking Japanese in reverse and a person speaking the other way around!

4. Stella Award for Dumbest Lawsuits

The “Stella Awards” are given to people who bring strange or absurd lawsuits, and are named after Stella Liebeck, who spilled a cup of McDonald’s coffee over herself in 1992; causing third degree burns.

It was only Stella who filed a lawsuit against McDonald’s; For offering her extremely hot coffee, which she described as “unsafe to drink and burning”, she was awarded a fictitious amount of $2.9 million in damages, but the judge later reduced it to $640,000, which is still a big number for a cup of coffee !

Stella is not the strangest winner. 2007 True Stella winner Roy L. claimed more than $65 million when he lost his pants at a dry cleaning company.

But the Supreme Court judge called the case a “vexatious lawsuit” and ruled damages in favor of the dry cleaners.

5. Best Content Award on Twitter and Social Media

Who knew that writing content on Twitter and social media has prices!

Yes, Twitter supports content writers, be they individuals, brands or even companies by offering “Shorty” awards.

The Shorty Awards honor the most creative work in digital and social media by brands, agencies and organizations.

The first awards ceremony took place on February 11, 2008, hosted by CNN anchor Rick Sanchez.

Notable past winners include Pakistani activist Malala Yousafzai, TV presenter Trevor Noah, former US President Michelle Obama’s wife, satirist Conan O’Brien and American singer Lady Gaga.

In addition to winning brands such as Marvel Studios, HBO, Red Bull, Airbnb, Nestle and BMW.

The Shortys Award aims to support inspiration and push the boundaries of excellence in digital storytelling. Entries are judged on merit of creativity, strategy and engagement by Real Time Academy, a panel of selected experts and leaders. The audience can also rate and choose their favorite contenders twice a year.

6. A satirical Oscar for worst film

Known as the “Golden Raspberry Awards” or “The Razzies,” presented at a gala honoring the worst films, the same prize money is $4.79 for a “raspberry-sized golf ball” souvenir painted gold.

The ceremony is held annually for the worst performances in films since 1980, and has several classifications such as: the award for the worst picture, or the worst actor and actress.

And if you think this is an unimportant or secondary event, you are wrong as many news networks like Reuters, CNN and many others are covering this satirical event.

Leave a Comment