The Royal Society of Science announces the names of the winners of the medals and awards for the year 2022

The Royal Society of Science has announced the names of the winners of the medals and awards for the year 2022, a body that works to spread science, which was founded in 1660, and it is affiliated with the United Kingdom, and the British government pays 30 million pounds annually to fund it.

Researchers, technicians, students and support staff responsible for the development of the Oxford-AstraZeneca vaccine have received the Copley Medal from the Royal Society for their rapid development and deployment of a vaccine against Covid-19, and this is the first time in the 300-year history of the Copley Medal to be awarded to a team.

In this cycle, the Royal Society presented two new annual awards in 2022 to celebrate the work of technicians and those working to improve research culture.

University of Nottingham Research Chemistry Technician Neil Barnes receives the first Hauksbee Prize, in recognition of his role in supporting generations of physical chemists as research technicians.

Dr. Diane Saunders, from the John Innes Centre, received the Rosalind Franklin Prize and Lecture for her mentoring project to empower undergraduate and early career researchers in plant sciences.

Dr Mark Richards, Imperial College London, has been recognized for his commitment to increasing equality in physics by developing the UK’s first network of black physicists, the Blackett Lab, at the inauguration of the Royal Society Prize for Research Culture.

The UCL STEM Engagement and Social Equity team aims to make science, technology, engineering and mathematics more inclusive, accessible and equitable for all young people, and to receive the Athena Prize.

The full list of the 2022 winners

Premier جوائز Awards

Copley Medal

The Oxford-AstraZeneca vaccine team, to rapidly develop and deploy a COVID-19 vaccine.

Wissam Bikrani and a lecture

Professor Andrew Zisserman FRS, for his research into the computational theory and commercial systems of geometric analysis of images, and for being a pioneering scientist and pioneer in machine learning for vision, particularly image recognition.

Cronin Medal and Lecture

Professor Dame Ottoline Leyser DBE FRS, for playing a central role in two of the most important discoveries concerning the nature and cognition of plant hormones, and for their contributions to gender equality in science.

Royal Medal

Having spurred many developments in telescopes and instruments, Professor Richard Ellis used these facilities to revolutionize the understanding of cosmic evolution.

Royal Medal

Professor Stephen West, for the discovery and determination of the function of key enzymes essential for the recombination, repair and maintenance of genomes.

Royal Medal

Professor Jeffrey Hinton, for his pioneering work on algorithms that learn distributed representations in artificial neural networks and apply them to speech and vision, transforming the international IT industry.

David Attenborough Prize and Lecture

Professor Sir Jonathan Van Tam, for his critical role in public engagement during the Covid-19 pandemic as the UK’s Deputy Chief Medical Officer, by national and international media.

Ferrer Medal

Professor Richard Morris, for his important role in understanding the physiological and psychological processes underlying memory.

Francis Crick Medal

Dr. Tiago Branco, for making fundamental advances in the molecular, cellular and circuit bases of neural computation and successfully linking them to decision-making behavior in animals.

Michael Faraday Award

Professor Monica Grady, for her significant contributions to the field of planetary science, and for her commitment and enthusiasm for public engagement, particularly in promoting science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) subjects for young women.

Milner Prize

Professor Stéphane Mallat, for his major advances in the fundamental principles of wavelets, including audio, image and video processing theory, and for his pioneering, significant contribution to advancing the understanding of deep neural networks.

Rosalind Franklin Award

Dr. Diane Saunders, for her innovative mentoring and coaching project to support and empower undergraduate students and researchers early in their careers in plant sciences at graduate and postdoctoral level.

Wilkins Bernal Round Medal

Dr. Philip Ball, for his outstanding commitment to sharing the social, cultural and historical context of science through award-winning scientific communication in books and articles and as a speaker and commentator.

Buchanan Medal

Professor Edward Richard Moxon, for his leadership in the field of molecular microbiology; Discovers contingency in bacteria that facilitates rapid evolution under selection and makes major contributions to the development of meningitis vaccines.

Professor Martin Empley, for his fundamental paradigm-shifting contributions to the understanding of mitochondrial endosymbiosis and the origin of eukaryotes in a new two-domain tree of life.

Davy Medal

Professor Peter Sadler, for his leadership in research in medicinal inorganic chemistry, “Metals in Medicine”, and the design of new metallurgical agents with new mechanisms of action.

Gabor Medal

Professor Graham Medley, for leading a multidisciplinary team of biologists, clinicians, mathematicians and statisticians who provided SAGE with epidemiological modeling expertise relating to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Hughes Medal

Professor Seif Al-Islam, for his outstanding contributions to a deeper understanding of atomic processes in new materials for use in energy applications, particularly those related to lithium batteries and perovskite solar cells.

Leverholm Medal

Professor Charlotte Williams, for her pioneering work in the development and understanding of high performance CO2 catalysts and feasible processes.

Rumford Medal

Professor Raymond Behrembert, for his extensive contributions to atmospheric physics, where he used the fundamental principles of physics to elucidate phenomena across the spectrum of planetary atmospheres.

Sylvester Medal

Professor David Rodney (Roger) Heath Brown, for his many important contributions to the study of prime numbers and solutions to integer equations.

Africa price

Professor Nouvel Ngwebe Cheju, for his work in the field of pulmonary and extrapulmonary tuberculosis, and for his innovative project proposal.

Armorers and Brasiers Award

Professor Ian McCulloch, for his fundamental contributions to the application of materials chemistry to organic electronic applications, with a results-oriented applied focus, always demonstrating translational impact and commercial potential.

Athena Prize

The Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics and Social Justice Engagement Team, UCL, for their cutting-edge research and development projects that have increased understanding, changed practice and led to more equitable participation in STEM.

Neil Barnes, for his outstanding skills as a research technician supporting generations of physical chemists, and his continuing to inspire future scientists by promoting chemistry online, attracting thousands of fans worldwide.

Mullard Prize

Professor Graeme Milligan, for his global leadership in pharmaceutical studies and translation, and for his successful ‘dissemination’ of academic research and his long-standing support for the biopharmaceutical industry.

Research Culture Award

Dr. Mark Richards, for his inspiring contribution to advocacy and commitment to greater equality in physics, including the development of the UK’s first network of black physicists: the Blackett Lab family.

Rising Star Africa Award

Dr. Khalil Tamrst, for his work on high-performance nanoelectronic devices, and his innovative research proposal.

Leave a Comment